shani4jc

Archive for January 30th, 2014

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

I like the song “Jesus Friend of Sinners” by Casting Crowns, but I confess that sometimes, I cringe when I hear some of the lyrics because they make me look right into the face of my own sin. It’s very difficult for most of us to admit our weaknesses and our failures, even to ourselves.  We tend to sugarcoat our iniquities in order to make ourselves feel better.  We make excuses for our actions or blame others for our own sin.  Or, we just bury them deep within our heart, hoping that no one will ever discover them.  One of the lines in the song that brings me the most distress is this one:
“…the world is on their way to You, but they’re tripping over me…”

The words of the song often cause me grief because I know my actions have not been such that they would lead anyone to Christ.  I know that people are watching me to see what I will do because I am a Christian and often, I fail them miserably.  They may be searching for Christ, and when they look at me, they do not find Him.  Even on my best days, I am not the reflection of Christ that I have been called to me.  Not only do I cause others to trip over me, I more often than not, trip over my own self.  If we only had each other to depend on, we would all be lost.  If the only example of Jesus we had was each other, we would never see Him. If this was the end of the story, there would be no hope for any of us. However, it’s not the end of the story and we do have Hope! The song is called “Jesus Friend of Sinners” because that’s exactly who He is.  He didn’t come for the righteous, but for the unrighteous.  He didn’t die to save those who had no need of a Savior, but instead, died for those who were already dead in their sin.  He didn’t come to live among the holier than thous, but among the sin infested.  He is the only One who is the perfect reflection of God.  He alone will never fail you.  He is perfect and you can trust Him to lead you right to the feet of your heavenly Father.  Unlike me, He will never trip you up on your way.

“When Jesus heard that, He said to them, ‘Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick.  But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy and not sacrifice.’ For I did not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.” Matthew 9: 12-13

Tripping Over Me


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 996 other subscribers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31