shani4jc

What Would Jesus Do?

Posted on: 7-15-112017

Most of us are familiar with WWJD…what would Jesus do? Today, there was a situation that happened with my three year old grandson that had me pretty sure that what Jesus would do would be to turn someone into a pillar of salt! My daughter stopped at the Walgreens near our home to buy some sunscreen because she was taking my grandson to swim at my son’s house. When he got out of the car, he noticed a car parked nearby that was loaded from top to bottom with stuff. He said, “Mom, they have a lot of stuff in their car!” He didn’t mean anything negatively by what he said…he was just making an observation. The owner of the car became irate and started screaming at my daughter. She told her that my grandson was “f***ing disrespectful” and he needed to be taught respect. My grandson got upset and starting telling his mom that he was sorry! This sweet little boy thought he had done something wrong! The lady kept screaming and threatened to call the police. My daughter got my grandson back in the car and just left before the situation escalated any farther! When my daughter called and told me about the situation, the Nana blood started boiling! I confess that my first thoughts were definitely not Christlike, although I did throw up a quick, “thank You, Lord” that I wasn’t there because if I would’ve been there, we would’ve surely needed the police before I was done with her. I would like to think that I would’ve kept my composure and not stopped to this lady’s level, but I just don’t know if I could’ve held it together. Sometimes, it’s just hard to be Christlike! As Christians, we are called to be imitators of Christ, but we can’t do that in our own. We have to constantly be pursuing Christ and purposely seeking to be a reflection of Him or we will fail every time! Being like Him is just not natural to us…we have to allow His Spirit to be in charge! Not always easy…but always the right thing to do. So, I’m going to try and cool my boiling blood down and I’m going to say a prayer for this lady, even though I don’t want to. And I’m going to talk to my grandson about the lady and have him say a prayer for her as well, because I don’t want this to be a negative experience in his life. I want it to be a learning experience for him…a chance for him to be an imitator of Christ.

“Therefore, be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.” Ephesians 5:1-2

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

July 2017
F S S M T W T
« Jun    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
