shani4jc

Missing My Dad

Posted on: 7-15-112017

We celebrated Father’s Day today and, because of this, I have been thinking a lot about my dad.  He passed away about two and a half years ago and although I miss him every day, holidays and special occasions always have me missing him more than usual.  He was very sick for the last few years of his life, and I know that he is so much better off now than he was here on earth, but the selfish part of me still wishes he was here sometimes.  The good news is that my dad was a Christian and I know where he is spending his eternity.  I also know that I will one day see him again.

“For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God.  And the dead in Christ will rise first.  Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air.  And thus, we shall always be with the Lord.”  1 Thessalonians 4:16-17

For those of us who know Christ as their Savior, there is always the hope of an eternity spent with Him, as well as our loved ones who have gone on before us.  There may be days on this earth that we miss them, but we can know without a shadow of a doubt that we will be reunited with them one day.  Knowing this won’t take away all of the pain or sadness, but it can help us through on days like today.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

June 2017
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
