shani4jc

Baby Steps

Posted on: 7-15-112017

My youngest grandson just turned ten months old, and every day brings new discoveries for him. He is adding new words to his vocabulary daily and is taking more and more steps on his own. I know that it won’t be very long before he is taking our ears off and running around all over the place. But for now, I’m just trying to soak in every little step and every little word he says.  I know he won’t stay little forever and I want to hold on as long as I can. Each milestone is bittersweet – it’s exciting and fills me with joy to see him accomplishing new things, but a little sad because each accomplishment takes him one step closer to growing up! No matter how much I would love to, I know I can’t keep him little forever…it’s just the natural progression of life. In the same way, there should be a natural spiritual progression in our lives. God doesn’t want us to stay babies in our faith…He wants us to grow more mature as we walk with Him. He celebrates our milestones and encourages us to take that next step! He cheers for every baby step we take, knowing that it is taking us closer and closer to a deeper and more intimate relationship with Him. Sometimes we may fear that God is going to be disappointed if we stumble or fall, but He won’t! Just like I know my seeet boy is learning, God knows that our entire life journey is a learning experience. Just as I would never be disappointed in my grandson for not getting something right, God will not be upset if we make a mistake. He will continue to cheer us on and encourage us to keep going until we get it right!

“As newborn babes, desire the pure milk of the Word, that you may grow…” 1 Peter 2:2

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

May 2017
F S S M T W T
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
