shani4jc

Follow the Leader

Posted on: 7-15-112017

I saw a video on Facebook recently that showed several ducklings following their mother across a bridge. The mother duck jumped off of the bridge into the water and  every duckling followed suit. Not one of them stopped at the edge of the bridge and thought about whether to follow or not. Not one turned around and ran back from where they had come. Not one quacked as if to ask the mother if she was sure she wanted them to follow her. Not one acted afraid of what may lie ahead in the water. They simply followed where she led. As I watched, I wished that I followed God in that same way. Unfortunately, that is not the case. I may follow for a bit, but if He expects me to jump off a bridge into the water that I am not familiar with, I’m going to have to think long and hard about it. I know myself well enough to know I am going to prefer just to turn around and go back to the familiar…the place where I am comfortable, the place that I am accustomed to. If I even consider the possibility of jumping into the water of the unknown, I am going to have a multitude of questions. “Are You sure, Lord? Do You really want me to do this? Isn’t there something else You would rather me do? How can I be sure it’s safe down there? How can I know that You are going to protect me fro whatever is lurking under the surface of the water? What if O can’t swim? What if I start to sink? What if a big wave comes and knocks me under? Where will You be? What if You can’t get to me in time?” The ducklings follow their mother because they trust her implicitly…why can’t I trust God like that? He calls us to follow Him and doesn’t give us a roadmap. Following Him is based on trust alone! It’s not easy, but no one who’s ever followed Him has ever regretted it! If you are like me and struggle with jumping off of that bridge, take a deep breath and jump! He’s waiting right there and will be with you every step of the way!

“Then Jesus said to them, ‘Follow Me, and I will make you become fishers of men. They immediately left their nets and followed Him.”   Luke 1:17-18

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

May 2017
F S S M T W T
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
