shani4jc

Taking Your Medicine

Posted on: 7-15-112017

My three year old grandson takes medicine every day for seizures. When he first started taking the medicine, he fought us like a tiger because he didn’t want to take it. Part of it was because the medicine tasted horrible and part of it was because he didn’t want to stop playing for, even a couple of seconds, to take the medicine. Every dose was a battle and he was not about to give in without a fight. Now, because we knew he had to have the medicine in order to control his seizures, we had to dig our heels in and insist he took the medicine no matter how much he fought us. We knew it was beneficial for him, so allowing him to have his way was not an option. I was thinking about these battles a few days ago and the thought occurred to me that I fight God in much the same way when He tries to make me do something I don’t want to do. Sometimes, I’m simply too busy doing my own thing to be bothered with what He is trying to do. I just want to be left alone to do what I want to do. Other times, what He is trying to make me do may not taste too good going down. He may be calling me to forgive someone who has really hurt me and the thought of doing so just leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. He may be calling me to apologize to someone I’ve wronged and I know the words will just about choke me to death coming out. He may be calling me to confess a sin to someone and admitting my wrongdoing is the last thing I want to do. Because I don’t want any part of what He is calling me to do, I do what my grandson did…I dig my heels in and fight! And what does God do? He does exactly what we did with my grandson…He doesn’t give in because He knows what He has for us is what is best for us.  He loves us too much to let us have our way.

“…Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick.” Matthew 9:12

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

May 2017
F S S M T W T
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
