shani4jc

Letting Go

Posted on: 7-15-112016

“Going a little farther, He fell facedown and prayed, ‘My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me.  Yet not as I will, but as You will.” Matthew 26:39

Many of us are familiar with the Scripture above and many of us can relate to how Jesus must have felt when He uttered the words, “Yet not as I will, but as You will” because we’ve uttered them ourselves.  If you’ve never said them, I can assure you that they are some of the most difficult words that will ever flow from your lips.  When I read this verse in my devotional today, I immediately thought of a situation in my life that I know I need to say these words over.  I need to stop trying to control the situation and make it work according to my plan.  I need to let it go and trust God’s will to be perfect.  I need to remember that peace doesn’t come from God doing what I want Him to, but when I trust Him to do what’s right even if it’s completely different than what I want.  Although I know all of these things to be true, I also know that letting go and surrendering to God’s plan  will not come easily.  The very thought of letting go in this particular situation terrifies me.  There is so much at stake and I know very well that there may be immense hurt and heartbreak in the midst of God’s plan.  I am fully aware of the fact that God’s will may take me down a road I do not want to go down.  I realize that God’s will may include a great deal of pain and to be honest, I’d rather not suffer through this one. I’d much rather God just do what I want Him to do and take care of this without me having to endure any heartache. I’d much rather He just snap His fingers and make everything turn out like a bed of roses, but I’ve walked with Him long enough to know that He just normally doesn’t operate that way.  He tends to operate more along the lines of teaching us through our difficulties, growing us through our trials and tribulations, and refining us through fire.  Jesus was able to say, “Yet not as I will, but as You will” because He knew the Father would use every single second of agony with divine purpose.  As I utter those words over my situation, I can trust Him to do the same.

1 Response to "Letting Go"

Amen ❤️

“…teaching us through our difficulties, growing us through our trials and tribulations, and refining us through fire.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

May 2016
F S S M T W T
« Apr   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
