shani4jc

“Nana, help me!”

Posted on: 7-15-112016

My precious two and a half year old grandson just spent a couple of days in the hospital due to a rare form of the flu.  He has a history of febrile seizures and this time was no exception.  However, this time his seizures were different than they ever had been.  For one, he actually had the first set of seizures before his temperature spiked.  Second, he had a seizure that lasted for what seemed like an eternity (roughly about 4 minutes) instead of his normal ones that last only a few seconds.  When he had the longer episode, we could not get him to respond when he came out of it and normally, as soon as the seizure passes, he is right back to his normal self as if he never missed a beat.  Due to some concern over all of these factors, he had to undergo a CAT Scan, blood work, and was finally transported to a children’s hospital via ambulance to have a neurologist look at him.  Due to his high temperature, he had to have fluids given to him through an IV so he wouldn’t dehydrate.  As his Nana, my heart was just broken to watch him go through this  This little boy is the light of my life and seeing him suffer was extremely difficult.  My daughter and I had to hold him down for his CAT Scan, for blood work, and for his IV.  My heart shattered into a million pieces through all of this because he would look at me with his big baby blue eyes and say, “Nana, help me! Help me!  Get them off of me!”  It was all I could do to hold it together.  Everything in me wanted to jerk him up and run as far away as I could, but I knew something he didn’t…I knew that everything the doctors and nurses were doing was being done in order to help him.  He is too little to understand that sometimes help doesn’t look like help and it feels a lot like pain and torture, but I have lived long enough to know that truth.  As God’s children, sometimes we don’t understand why God does what He does, but we can be assured that it is always for our good.  Sometimes His help can seem like a lot of pain and torture, but the end result is to make us stronger.  Sometimes we cry out to Him, as my grandson did to me, only to feel like He didn’t answer us and His help didn’t come.  We must realize, however, that God always does what is best for us…even when it hurts and even when it’s hard!  My grandson trusts me with his life and calls to me for help with good reason…he knows without a shadow of a doubt that his Nana loves him and would move heaven and earth for him…how much more does God love His children and how much more would He do to protect us and care for us?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

March 2016
F S S M T W T
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
