shani4jc

Rooted in Christ Before The Storm

Posted on: 7-15-112016

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, and whose hope is the Lord, for he shall be like a tree planted by the waters, which spreads outs its roots by the river, and will not fear when heat comes; but its leaf will be green, and will not be anxious in the year of drought, nor will cease from yielding fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

I have a very dear friend who is going through a very difficult situation in her life.  Her father is very ill and has had to go through three surgeries in the past week.  It seems that each day the news gets worse and hope is starting to dwindle down to nothing.  She is fighting desperately to hold on in faith that God will heal her dad here on earth, but as each day passes, that fight is becoming harder and harder.  I know exactly where my sweet friend is for I traveled a very similar road with my own dad.  I can’t even remember how many times I begged God to step in and do something for my dad.  At one point, the doctors informed us that there was nothing more medically that could be done for my dad and the best they could do was to keep him comfortable.  Even then I begged God to give us a miracle.  However, the miracle I was praying for did not come.  The miracle God gave me was the courage to ask my dad what he wanted and the strength not to fall to pieces in front of him when he told me that he was ready to stop fighting the fight and go home.  The miracle God gave me was to forsake my own selfish desires as I held his hand and told him for the last time that I loved him and that it was okay to go.  To you, these may not seem like miracles, but believe me, they were miracles to me because I couldn’t have done any of this on my own…only God could do it through me.  Trusting God is not easy when your whole world is crashing in around you.  Holding on in faith when God seems to be so far away can seem almost impossible.  If you are not completely grounded in Christ before disaster strikes, you may be uprooted and drawn away from Him.  However, for those who are grounded in Christ, the storms may come and they may be the most ferocious storms you can even imagine, but you will stand.  You may be battered and bruised, but you will stand!  My prayer for my precious friend tonight is to just stand and let God be her anchor during one of the most intense storms she will ever face.  If you’re reading this Elva, I promise you with everything in me that He will NOT let you go under!  He will hold you in His arms and He will carry you through.  I know because I have been in the same storm and I know that He brought me through to the other side.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2016
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
