shani4jc

What Does Your Heart Truly Long For?

Posted on: 7-15-112015

“Your glory, God, is what our hearts long for…”

This line from the song “Holy Spirit” by Francesca Battistelli jumped out at me yesterday as we sang the song at church.  I had to ask myself if God’s glory is what my heart truly longs for. It’s easy for me to pretend I want what will bring God glory, but living that out is a little more difficult. Does my heart truly long for God’s glory when God’s glory means great sacrifice on my part?  Does my heart truly long for God’s glory when God’s glory is not part of my plan?  Does my heart truly long for God’s glory when God’s glory means I must endure hardship?  Does my heart truly long for God’s glory when God’s glory comes through my shattered heart?  If I am honest with myself and with you, I must confess that God’s glory isn’t usually on the top of my priority list, but instead, my own comfort and convenience are.  My prayers are more along the lines of asking God to do what I want Him to do instead of asking Him to do whatever brings Him glory.   But, isn’t that what I’m here for…to bring Him glory? Anything else is a life of less purpose than what He intended.

“Declare His glory among the nations, His wonders among all peoples.” 1 Chronicles 16:24

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

November 2015
F S S M T W T
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
