shani4jc

Whatever State You Are In

Posted on: 7-15-112015

“Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content.” Philippians 4:11

The dictionary defines “content” as a state of peaceful happiness or a state of genuine satisfaction.  Can you honestly say that you are in a state of peaceful happiness or a state of genuine satisfaction no matter what is going on in your life?  Speaking for myself, I can’t say that.  Oh, I may have moments of contentment, but they disappear before I even have time to enjoy them.  Why is that?  In my case, it’s because I haven’t learned to be content no matter what!  I, just like many other people, have convinced myself that I can only be content when everything is perfect and as long as I am on this earth, that just isn’t possible.  So, if we are to find contentment on this side of heaven, we better figure out how to do it in the midst of tragedy, heartbreak, grief, difficulties, and all of the other things that tend to strip our contentment away.  How did Paul, who penned the verse above, find contentment no matter what was going on around him? He found it in Christ and in Christ alone.  He allowed Christ to be his everything.  He allowed Christ to be his focus instead of his circumstances.  Easier said than done, I know, but that’s the simple key to contentment.  No matter what state you are experiencing, Christ alone is enough to bring you peaceful happiness and genuine satisfaction.  We just have to do what Paul did…focus on Christ instead of our situation and watch that situation lose its power over us.  We have to allow Christ to be our everything instead of just one more thing. We have to realize that Christ doesn’t give us contentment…He is our contentment.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2015
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
