shani4jc

One Man’s Obedience

Posted on: 7-15-112015

On Sunday night, my husband and I saw the movie “Woodlawn” which I would highly recommend.  It is the true story of a school struggling with integration and how the football team overcomes these barriers after the whole team is converted to Christianity.  As my husband and I drove home after the movie, he asked me if I would be writing any blogs based on the movie.  I could honestly reply that I had several ideas flying through my mind, so you may see a few of these in my blog over the next few weeks.  Tonight, I want to talk about Hank, the man who kept asking the coach to speak to the football team.  Hank was a Christian and he wanted to share the message of Christ with the team.  At first the coach didn’t want any part of it, but finally gave in to his request.  During that meeting, the whole team comes to know Christ as their Savior and that sets into motion a series of events that changes, not only the course of the team, but the entire city.  As I think about Hank, I wonder if he had any idea the magnitude of would happen because of his willingness to share Christ with others.  I wonder what he was thinking as the first football player stood up and expressed his desire to follow Christ…the second player…the third player…and ultimately, the whole team.  I wonder if he had any clue how his obedience was going to shape these young lives, as well the history of the city.  I’m sure he never imagined that years later, his obedience to God would be displayed in a major motion picture. I can only imagine that as he watched some of this story unfold before his eyes, he was completely blown away by what God was doing because as I watched the movie, I was completely blown away by what God did through this one man’s willingness to share Christ.  It can be so easy to convince ourselves that we are only one person so what we do or don’t do really doesn’t make a difference, but nothing is farther from the truth when God is involved.  God can accomplish things that our minds cannot even begin to conceive when we are just willing to obey Him.

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us…” Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

October 2015
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
