shani4jc

Are You An Amateur or A Professional?

Posted on: 7-15-112015

Yesterday, I heard a story about a husband and wife who watch football together quite often.  The husband said that every single time a long pass is made and caught, his wife says, “How does he do that? How can he throw that ball so far and make it fall right into a fellow player’s hands?”  The husband said that he always replies, “He’s a professional, that’s why.” A professional practices his craft day in and day out.  A professional practices his craft whether he feels like it or not. He practices his craft for long hours even when he’s exhausted.  A professional doesn’t give up when the going gets tough.  A professional doesn’t quit when the results aren’t what he had anticipated.  A professional continues to do the same thing over and over and over until it is as natural to him as breathing.  An amateur, on the other hand, may enjoy doing something, but he doesn’t invest his all in it.  For example, an amateur golfer may enjoy playing golf, but he’s not going to play every day.  He may practice his swing, but he’s not going to practice for hours on end.  He may plan on playing a round on a Saturday afternoon, but change his plans when the rain clouds appear overhead.  He may like golf, but it isn’t his greatest passion in the world.  Thinking about being an amateur as compared to a professional has me asking myself what kind of Christian am I?  Do I show the dedication of a professional in my pursuit of Christ or am I easily drawn away like an amateur?  Do I spend a great deal of my time working on my relationship with Christ or is my relationship with Christ more like a hobby?  Am I relentless in seeking Christ or do I give up when the road gets hard to travel?  Do I spend time in prayer/in His Word even when I’m tired or just when it’s convenient to my schedule?  Is my relationship with Christ my greatest passion in the world or is it just something I enjoy on occasion? I confess that more often than not, I am an amateur in my pursuit of Christ.  It’s time to become a professional!

“But seek FIRST His kingdom and His righteousness…” Matthew 6:33 (emphasis mine)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

October 2015
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
