shani4jc

Putting God In a Box

Posted on: 7-15-112015

Today I noticed that the straps of the bag I carry to work were on the verge of breaking.  Those poor things have probably been stretched beyond their limits on many occasion because I tend to stuff that bag as full as I can possible stuff it.  I’m always taking everything out of the bag and rearranging the contents so I can fit more inside.  Today, in true fashion, my bag was filled to overflowing.  I couldn’t have possibly fit another thing inside.  The bag had reached its limitations.  As I looked at the bulging bag, the image of God bulging out of the box I tend to put Him in crossed my mind.  You see, I’m guilty of trying to limit God so that I can understand Him.  I try to force Him to fit into the box of my mind so that I can make sense of His ways.  I try to reduce Him down to my level so I can fathom who He is.  Try as I might, however, to make God fit into my box, He keeps busting out of it.  No matter how I try to stuff Him into my limited mind, I can’t contain Him.  He is far too great to be limited.  He cannot be reduced to our level because He is so far greater than we can even imagine.  We can spend our lives trying to minimize Him to suit our limits or we can spend our lives standing in awe of the One who cannot be limited.

“Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God!  How unsearchable His judgments, and His paths beyond tracing out!” Romans 11:33

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2015
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
