shani4jc

Unhindered Faith

Posted on: 7-15-112015

This afternoon, our twenty-month old grandson and I spent some time playing on our trampoline. Our grandson doesn’t really spend a lot of time actually jumping on the trampoline, but instead, runs around the edge of the trampoline over and over as fast as his little legs can carry him. (Thank You, Lord, for safety nets) My husband didn’t join us on the trampoline, but instead, watched our escapades standing near the door of the safety net, which turned out to be the perfect place for him to be! All of a sudden, after multiple runs around the trampoline, our grandson ran straight through the door of the net and jumped right into his Pop’s arms! He squealed with excitent and proudly said, “Jump!” He did this several times, each time with pure delight emanating from his face. Later, as we moved our play area from the trampoline into the ever popular mud puddles, my husband commented on how our grandson jumped out of that net with not one ounce of doubt that he would be caught by his Pop’s strong arms. He trusted his Pop with complete and unhindered faith! He never even considered that his Pop would fail him or allow him to fall. This is the kind of faith I long to have in Christ! I want to jump off the cliff of the unknown without an ounce of doubt or insecurity, being 100% confident that my Savior will catch me and keep me from falling. I want to trust Him the way our grandson trusts his Pop. i wish I could say I have that type of faith, but I can’t! Doubts and fears have crept in and made me be hesitant to trust Him, even though I know I should. I believe Satan’s lies when he tells me that God won’t be there to catch me if I fall. My own pride tells me that my problems are too big for God to handle. All of this doubt leaves me standing on the edge, longing to jump and squeal with delight when my Father catches me, but too afraid to take the plunge. Watching my grandson this afternoon was a good reminder to me that life isn’t truly lived waiting on the edge, but in the flight into the arms that will always catch me!

“But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.” James 1:6

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

April 2015
F S S M T W T
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
