shani4jc

The Love of the Father

Posted on: 7-15-112015

My four year old grandson just started playing tee ball. As I watched his game tonight, I was so proud of him. When he hit the ball, I was so excited for him. When he ran to each base, I cheered him on. When he crossed home plate, took off his helmet, and waved at us all the way to the dugout, my heart just melted. When he put his hat on backwards and squatted down on the field instead of going after a ball hit by the other team, I snapped pictures and proclaimed how incredibly cute he is. It didn’t matter to me that another child may have hit the ball farther, ran the bases faster, or paid more attention to the game…my eyes were on my sweet little grandson and I couldn’t have been a happier Mimi! I know that he’s just learning and that he’s not ready for the major leagues yet. I know that he’s going to make mistakes and that’s okay with me because I know mistakes are often times the best learning tools we can have. I’m proud of him, not because of what he does, but because he is mine. The love I have for him and the joy he brings me is not based on his performance, but because he belongs to me. In the same way, God loves each of us because we are His. He doesn’t love us because of what we do, but because of who we are…His children. Just as I applaud my grandson’s efforts and know he is just getting started, God applauds our efforts. He knows that we are going to make mistakes and that we are going to have many failures along the way. He doesn’t expect us to be perfect because He knows we are not. He cheers us on through every step and even when we run to third base instead of first base. He is our biggest supporter, our greatest encourager, and the One who loves us more than we can even imagine.

“I will be a Father to you, and you shall be My sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.” 2 Corinthians 6:18

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

April 2015
F S S M T W T
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
