shani4jc

The Power of Our Words

Posted on: 7-15-112015

My daughter was walking across the church parking lot this morning with my four year old grandson and my two year old granddaughter.  As they were passing by a drain built into the parking lot, my grandson asked his little sister if she knew what the drain was.  She shook her head to indicate that she didn’t know. He replied, “Mimi said that’s a drain for the rain water to go down so it doesn’t get too high in the parking lot.”  When my daughter told me about it, I could barely even remember having the conversation with him.  My daughter said that we had the conversation about four weeks ago and that he remembered what I said word for word.  I never knew when I had that conversation with him that my words would stick with him the way they did.  I wonder how often we say things that impact others in ways that we have no idea.  I wonder how many times we may have said something to someone that brought them great encouragement just when they needed it or how many times our words have been the reason their discouragement turned to despair.  I wonder how many times our words have helped someone and how many times they have hindered someone. How many times have our words had a positive impact on someone and how many times they have a negative impact on someone?  I don’t think we really give much thought to how our words can help or hinder, teach or lead astray, build up or tear down.  I think we often say things without giving heed to the influence our words may have on the person hearing them. I don’t think we really realize the power that our words have, but we need to because we have the power to breathe either life or death based on the words we choose to say.

“Death and life are in the power of the tongue…” Proverbs 18:21

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

February 2015
F S S M T W T
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
