shani4jc

The Battle is the Lord’s

Posted on: 7-15-112015

We have a cat and, like most cats, she has a mind of her own about certain things.  For example, she only eats from her bowl if you pour the food in front of her.  If she walks up to the bowl and the food is already there, she won’t touch it…even if you just poured it a couple of minutes before.  Another thing she refuses to do is drink water out of a bowl.  She will only drink running water, such as from the bathroom sink.  A few nights ago, she was sitting on our bathroom counter drinking to her heart’s content.  While she drank, I tossed something on the counter behind her. She didn’t flinch, nor did she stop drinking.  It was as if she didn’t even know about it.  As I thought about how oblivious she was to something going on right around her, I was reminded that there are many battles going on around me that I don’t even know about.  My co-workers, my fellow church members, people driving by me on the road, my neighbors,my friends, my extended family, and even the people who live in the house with me are facing battles that I can be completely unaware of.  Sometimes I am even facing battles of my own that I am not completely aware of.  God, on the other hand, knows about every single detail of every single battle of every single person in the world.  He knows the cause of the battle, the ferocity of the battle, the length of the battle, and the outcome of the battle.  He is the answer to every battle, the victor in every battle, and the weapon we need to fight every battle.  He goes before us preparing the way, stands beside us giving us strength and encouragement, and guards us from behind to protect us from unseen enemies.  Whatever comes our way, He can handle.  Nothing is too difficult for Him.  Whenever you find yourself on the battlefront, call on Him and He will bring you victory.

“Then all this assembly will know that the Lord does not save with sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s, and He will give you into our hands.”  1 Samuel 17:47

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

February 2015
F S S M T W T
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  
