shani4jc

Love is of God

Posted on: 7-15-112015

Last week, my husband and I saw the play “Momma Mia” in New Orleans.  It was a wonderful production, and we really enjoyed ourselves.  Even more entertaining than the play, however, was the group of ladies in the row in front of us.  There were about six of them in the group and they were probably in their seventies.  As we waited for the play to begin, we could tell that they were so excited to be at the play.  They chattered nonstop about how beautiful the theater was and how they had been anxiously anticipating coming to see the show.  Several of them had recently bought cell phones, as well, so they were busy trying to figure out how to take pictures and how to text the pictures to someone once they had taken it. My sweet husband finally leaned forward and helped them.  We laughed as we heard one precious lady tell the other one, “I think I can send a text message.  I can receive a text message, so doesn’t that mean I can send one?”  Everyone finally got their phone figured out and all of the pictures sent just before the play started.  As I watched them fool with their phones, I noticed one lady had a beautiful picture of a sunrise as her screen saver and across the picture it said, “God loves me!”  I heard her telling the lady beside her how her daughter had taught her how to add the words across the pictures.  She then said something that has stuck with me all week.  She said, “I had to put ‘God loves me’ so that I am reminded of His love every time I open my phone.”  As I’ve thought about her words this week, I wonder how many people have no idea how much God loves them.  I wonder how many people have no idea the price God paid for them to show His amazing, unconditional love for them.  I wonder how many people have never heard anything at all about God’s love.  I wonder how many people don’t know about His love because I have failed to tell them about it or have failed to be an example of it.  There are too many people who don’t know about God’s love and it is our responsibility as Christians to make sure they are told.
“Beloved, let us love one another for love is of God, and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God.” 1 John 4:7

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

January 2015
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
