shani4jc

The Me God Sees

Posted on: 7-15-112015

Recently, I sat in on an interview for our company to assist a young lady who is just being trained to do interviews.  She had a young man’s application and, as we glanced over it, it seemed as if he may be a really good candidate for a position.  However, it wasn’t but about one minute into the actual face-to-face interview that I knew he didn’t match up with the person on the application.  The longer we talked with him, the more obvious it became that he was far from a potential candidate.  After he left, she and I just looked at each other in disbelief.  We almost burst into laughter when we both said, “No way!” at about the same time.  I’ve thought about this young man several times since that interview.  I can’t figure out how he and the person on paper could even be remotely the same person.  Today, as I thought about it again, I chuckled to myself and shook my head.  Then, God struck me with a very humbling realization…I am, all too often, just like that young man.  My words and actions don’t always reflect who I truly am!  I sometimes, like the young man, look good “on paper”, but my true self is nothing like that.  I may put a smile on my face and say nice things to someone and the whole time, I’m thinking very judgmental things about them.  I may say I forgive someone, but inside, I am really harboring a lot of bitterness and resentment towards them. These are just a couple of examples…believe me, the list could be a lot longer.  I can put on a charade for the world, but God is never fooled by my act.  He sees the true me…the good, the bad, and the downright ugly.  He knows every  intent of my heart and He is not tricked into believing anything differently.  I may pull the wool over every single person in the world’s eyes, but I will never pull it over God’s eyes.  He knows me better than I know myself.  He knows what is true and what is just an act performed to look good for the world.  While this is a very humbling realization, it’s also a very amazing realization for it shows just how much God loves me.  He loves me in spite of myself.  He loves me at my best and at my worst.  He loves me when I do good and when I fail miserably.  He looks into the very deepest, darkest parts of my heart and loves me still.

“As in water face reflects face, so a man’s heart reveals the man.”  Proverbs 27:19

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2015
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
