shani4jc

Chose to Praise

Posted on: 7-15-112015

“Blessed Be Your Name” by Matt Redman

“Blessed be Your name
In the land that is plentiful
Where Your streams of abundance flow
Blessed be Your name

And blessed be Your name
When I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

Blessed be Your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s all as it should be
Blessed be Your name

Blessed be Your name
On the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
And when the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

Oh, blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say (emphasis mine)
Blessed be Your name, Lord”

This is part of the lyrics to one of my all time favorite songs.  I think it’s one of my favorites because it reminds me that I need to praise God no matter what is happening in my life.  Whether things are going along smoothly or whether everything around me is falling completely to pieces, I need to praise Him!  I confess I am more of a middle of the road praiser…I tend to praise Him when things are somewhere between smooth and falling to pieces.  When things are going along without any difficulty, I sometimes get complacent and comfortable and forget that I owe Him my praise for giving me these calm times.  On the other hand, when the storms are raging and I feel as if I’m about to drown, I allow worry and panic to overtake me and praising Him is the last thing on my mind.  Who has time to praise Him when they’re fighting just to survive, right? My favorite line in the whole song is “My heart will choose to say…”  because I think that sums it up perfectly!  We have to choose to praise Him.  It doesn’t come naturally to us.  We have to get up every single day with the mindset that we will praise Him no matter what comes our way.  We have to purpose in our hearts that we will praise Him on the mountaintop and in the valley and everywhere in between.  We have to plan to spend time praising Him, or the odds are, it won’t happen.  When we take the time to praise Him, those good times become even better and those difficult times suddenly become just a little easier to bear.  He is worthy, my friend, of all of the praise we can give Him…no matter what is happening in our lives.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

January 2015
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
