shani4jc

Praying for Others

Posted on: 7-15-112015

My family is, by nature, a family of fixers.  When someone has a problem, we want to fix it for them.  If someone is hungry, we will feed them.  If someone is thirsty, we will give them something to drink. If someone needs clothing, we will get clothes for them. If someone needs a place to stay, we will offer them a place in our home. Sometimes, however, people have problems and situations that can’t be taken care of so easily.  Sometimes there is no tangible way to correct whatever is going on in their lives. For example, in the last few months, we have had four family members pass away.  The heartbreak and despair has been almost unbearable for many.  Because I am a fixer, I am desperate to do something to help everyone through this difficult season.  I have tried to do what I can, but, at the end of the day, I feel like it’s not even close to being enough.  As I was praying about this and asking God to show me what to do to help, He reminded me that the very best thing I can do for them is to pray for them.  Although I definitely believe in the power of prayer, I have to admit that I tend to lost sight on the effects our prayers can have on others.  I lean toward wanting to do things that have an impact I can see with my eyes. I forget that when I pray for others, I am giving the situation to the One who can truly take care of it. I may not have the ability to heal their hurts, but I do have the ability to lift them up to the One who can heal their hurts.  I may not be able to fill the void in their hearts, but I can ask the God of the universe to fill the void for them.  I can’t give them the strength and encouragement to face the day, but I can petition my heavenly Father to do so.  And even if I can’t always see the impact of my prayers, I can trust God to answer me in the best way possible, for He alone is the One who can do “exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think”.

“Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to Him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” Ephesians 3:20

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

January 2015
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
