shani4jc

God’s Great Sacrifice

Posted on: 7-15-112015

As I mentioned in an earlier post, we have had four family members pass away in recent months.  On the night before my dad passed away, a family member and I stayed up all night watching over him.  We spent some time talking about my dad, as well as the three other family members who passed away before him.  One of the things that we talked about was the fact that, if we could have, we would have gladly taken any one of their places.  If losing our life would have kept them alive, we would have done it in a heartbeat.  Most of us feel that way about our loved ones.  We wouldn’t even have to think about it.  We would sacrifice ourselves in the blink of an eye.  While sacrificing myself for my loved ones would come easily, I have to ask myself if I would sacrifice myself for my worst enemy.  Would I be willing to die in their place?  Probably not!  Now, let’s take this one step further…would I be willing to sacrifice my child for a loved one?  Would I be able to give him/her up so that another loved one could live?  Those are tough questions.  I wouldn’t be able to do it as easily as if I were sacrificing myself, and to be completely honest, I don’t know if I could ever do it.  What about my worst enemy?  Would I ever be able to sacrifice my child in order for my worst enemy to live?  My mind cannot conceive any scenario in which I would give up my beloved child for my enemy.  However, isn’t that just what God did for us?  Didn’t He sacrifice Jesus for us without hesitation?  Didn’t He turn His back on His Son so that He never had to turn His back on us?  Didn’t He allow Him to die so that we could live?  And He allowed Him to die in our place even when we were His enemies.  I don’t know if I will ever be able to fully grasp how He did it or truly appreciate how hard it must have been for Him.  What I do know is that it was the greatest sacrifice ever made and I need to live my life every single day being grateful for the price that was paid for me.

“While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” Romans 5:8

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

January 2015
F S S M T W T
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
