shani4jc

The Cries of the Broken Hearted

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Over the past few days, my dad has been very ill and the prognosis he has been given is not good.  The doctors are not expecting him to live too much longer.  Needless to say, my family is devastated. For the most part, we have come to accept that our time with him is drawing to a close.  However, there are times when the heart break is just almost too much to bear.  So many times over the past few days he has just grabbed my hand and looked at me with tears in his eyes and the saddest look on his face.  In those moments, I feel as if my heart is  shattering into a million pieces.  I feel so helpless.  I want so badly to be able to do something to take away his pain and suffering, but I can’t.  Just when I feel as if the pain is about to overtake me, God sends the most amazing peace over me, reminding me that I can’t take the pain and suffering away for my dad, but He can.  I can’t bring him the comfort he needs right now, but He can.  And as this peace falls over me, He reminds me of these verses:

“The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears, and delivers them out of all their troubles.  The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, and saves such as have a contrite spirit.”  Psalm 34:17-18

He lets me know that He hears my cries and that He is near to me, as well as all of my family as we try to endure this  And there is no greater comfort for me at this time than to know that He is here and that He hears me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
