shani4jc

In My Father’s House

Posted on: 7-15-112014

The doctor told us today that my dad probably only has another couple of days.  His heart is failing, his lungs are failing, his kidneys are failing, and the list goes on. We are doing our best to get arrangements made and prepare ourselves for saying our final good-byes.  This afternoon, I sat by his bed holding his hand and just praying for God to spare him any further suffering.  I also asked for His grace and strength to be upon each of us, especially my mom, as we make the final preparations.  As I prayed, the following Scriptures came to me:

“In my Father’s house are many dwelling places; if not, I would have told you. I am going away to prepare a place for you.  If I go away and prepare a place for you, I will come back and receive you to Myself, so that where I am, you may be also.” John 14:2-3

Such comfort and peace came upon me to think that while we were here on earth making preparations for my dad’s passing, Jesus is in heaven making preparations to receive him.  I wondered what my dad’s mansion in heaven would look like.  As I tried to envision it, I could imagine a few things.  I could see some décor with deer and fish on it because my dad has always loved deer hunting and fishing.  I could see a freezer stocked with ice cream because he has always loved having some ice cream for his bedtime snack, as well as some orange slices in his pantry.  I could picture a ball game or John Wayne Western playing on his TV. And finally, I could see my dad sitting at the table playing a game of cards or dominoes with Jesus and whoever else was up for a game.  Now, I know that my vision may be way off, but nevertheless, it brings me great comfort to know that Jesus will have a place prepared for him and that place will beyond our wildest imaginations.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
