shani4jc

Before the Battle Begins

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Our pastor spoke today on 2 Chronicles 20 which talks about the battle against King Jehoshaphat and his people. One of the things that I found most interesting as I read through the passage was that as soon as King Jehoshaphat was warned that a battle was impending, he reacted immediately. He didn’t wait to see if it would really happen before taking action. He didn’t call a committee meeting to discuss a strategy if it happened. He didn’t stick his head in the sand and hope that it didn’t happen. He simply took action…his first and foremost priority was to seek the Lord. And because he sought the Lord, he received instructions on how to fight the battle. Speaking for myself, I tend to wait until I’m in the midst of battle to figure out that I need help. And often, once I’m in the heat of the battle, I’m so focused on survival that I forget to call on the Lord who is my only hope of help. Once I do manage to eek out a feeble, “Help”, He comes to my rescue, but the damage has already been done. Because I am in Christ, I will ultimately come out of the battle with a victory, but when I wait to call on Him, I tend to come out limping, battered and bruised, and completely exhausted. As Christians, we know that we face an enemy who is ready to attack at a moment’s notice, so what can we learn from King Jehoshaphat’s example? We need to be seeking the Lord daily to prepare ourselves for battle. We can’t wait until we’ve been attacked to call on the Lord because when we wait, we give Satan the upper hand. Yes, we will come out victorious in the end, but how much damage will he cause because we weren’t properly armed?

“And Jehoshaphat feared, and set himself to seek the Lord…” 2 Chronicles 20:3

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
