shani4jc

First Things First

Posted on: 7-15-112014

“I have so much to do that if I didn’t spend at least three hours a day in prayer I would never get it all done.” Martin Luther King

I heard this quote on the radio coming home from work today. Immediately, I thought of how much I have to do on any given day, but how I tend to take the opposite approach from Martin Luther King. Instead of spending time in prayer, I convince myself that I am too busy to do so. Oh, I may throw up an occasional, “Help me, Lord!” during the midst of my whirlwind of activities and I do try my best to ask God to watch over my family at some point during the day, but to say I spend any length of time in prayer would be a lie. To be perfectly honest, I can’t say that I’ve ever spent three hours of prayer on one day in my entire life. Who am I kidding…praying three hours over the course of a whole week is pushing it! Do I believe in the power of prayer? Absolutely! Do I believe that God hears us when we pray? Absolutely! Do I believe that our prayers can change things? Absolutely! Do I believe it’s important for us to pray? Absolutely! So, if I believe all of these things, why don’t I do it? I could give you a whole list of reasons…none of which have any merit! I am without excuse. I wonder how different my life would be if I spent three hours per day in prayer? How different would it be if I just woke up thirty minutes early per day to spend in prayer? How much more would I accomplish if I made God my priority and let Him take care of the rest?

“The effective, fervent prayers of a righteous man avails much.” James 5:16

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
