shani4jc

Deep Waters

Posted on: 7-15-112014

“And when the man went out to the east with the line in his hand, he measured one thousand cubits, and he brought me through the waters; the water came up to my ankles. Again he measured one thousand and brought me through the waters; the water came up to my knees. Again he measured one thousand and brought me through; the water came up to my waist. Again he measured one thousand, and it was a river that I could not cross; for the water was too deep, water in which one must swim, a river that could not be crossed.” Ezekiel 47:3-5

My family has been to New Braunfels, Texas several times to tube and float on the Comal River. We always have a wonderful time and have created many special memories that we will cherish forever. As much as I enjoy these times, there is one part of it that I can hardly stand…I do NOT like cold water at all! I’m the type of person who doesn’t think they’ve really had a bath or shower unless they come out with their skin as red as a lobster. The water in the Comal is pretty chilly, even in the hottest part of the summer…nowhere near my desired temperature! I simply dread getting into the water! If it was left up to me, I would end up standing on the bank sticking my toe in over and over while I tried to talk myself into getting in, but never really making any progress. Fortunately for me, my husband doesn’t let me do this. He “helps” me out by just shoving me in! Once I’m in, I’m fine and I can go on and enjoy my time on the river. And I have to admit, it’s much more fun in the middle of the river than standing on the bank just dipping my toe in…even though it is cold! Recently, I read the above Scriptures in Ezekiel and I thought about our times on the Comal River. I thought about how much I would miss out on if I just stayed on the bank dipping my toes in. In much the same way, we can miss out on the best things God has to offer if we just stay on the “bank” of our relationship with Him. When we don’t take the plunge and give our whole life to Him, we miss out on the joy found in the depths. Many of us stay on the “bank” because we are comfortable there. We don’t want to do what it takes to get into the “deeper waters” with God. However, just as I would have missed out on many priceless memories and adventures with my family if I had stayed on the water’s edge, we miss out on the best God has to offer if we don’t take the plunge!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
