shani4jc

The Power of Reading

Posted on: 7-15-112014

A few days ago, my daughter and I took my 13 month old grandson to a local fair. He loves animals, so we knew he would enjoy seeing all of the different animals that were on display. My daughter walked him up to a pen containing goats while I stood back to snap a picture of him. Before I could even get the picture, she turned around with a look of surprise on her face and said, “He just said ‘goat’ when he walked up to the pen.” We couldn’t believe it! He’s never actually seen a goat before except in his books on farm animals, so we were shocked that he recognized it and called it by name. I thought maybe he was just babbling and it sounded like “goat”, but when I walked him up to a pen with more goats in it a little while later, he said “goat” as plain as day. My heart was soaring! I’m an avid reader and I’ve read to him since the day he was born. I take him to the library every couple of weeks to make sure he gets into the habit of going and I won’t even confess as to how many books I’ve bought him in his short life. So, the fact that he knew what a goat was after his only exposure to one had been through a book made my day! I am always emphasizing to my daughter, who is not a fan of reading, how important it is to read to my grandson every day. And this moment was my living proof of why it was important! As important as I think it is and as much as I love doing it, there is one thing I don’t read enough of…my Bible. It’s the most important book in the world…the one with the answer to every problem I will ever face…the one with instructions for how to live…the one with the power to change me forever…and it’s the one I don’t pick up! It doesn’t make sense, does it? If my reading a couple of farm books to my grandson can teach him what a goat is, imagine what the Bible can do for those who read it.

“For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
