shani4jc

Being Told No

Posted on: 7-15-112014

My grandchildren, like any children, do not like to be told “no” when they want something. Because I’m the Nana, I have the pleasure of not having to say “no” too often…and my grandchildren know this all too well. When they are told “no” by someone else, if I am anywhere in the vicinity, they come running to me for help. The younger ones will hold up their little arms so I will pick them up and love on them. They then precede to “tattle” on whoever told them “no” by babbling and pointing at the perpetrator. My oldest grandson is well known for giving his mom her cell phone and telling her to call me when he doesn’t get his way. Of course, I think this is so cute…their moms aren’t of the same opinion. It’s amazing to me how early they catch on to this behavior! My daughter and I were talking about this a few days ago and I have been thinking about how we, as adults, can do the very same thing when God tells us “no” about something we want. No sooner is “no” out of His mouth than we are running to someone for a different answer. We may go to a family member, a friend, a co-worker…anyone who we think may tell us we can have what we want. And when we find someone who says “yes” we tend to completely ignore what God had to say about the matter. The problem with this behavior is that we eventually find out that God’s “no” was much better than the “yes” from the person we ran to. We realize that God’s way was the better way and then we have to deal with the consequences resulting from not listening to Him. When I allow my grandchildren to do something that they were previously told “no” about, there are no life altering consequences at stake. They may get a cookie or get to paint or play in the mud or something fun like that, but there is nothing major on the line. With God, however, rebelling against His “no” may have severe ramifications. We have to learn to trust Him, even when the answer He gives us isn’t the one we want to hear.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2014
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
