shani4jc

What Am I Teaching Them?

Posted on: 7-15-112014

On Sunday, our pastor spoke about Elijah and mentioned that his name meant “Yahweh is God”. I know I’ve heard that before, but what he said after that, I had never considered. He said that the fact that Elijah’s parents chose that name spoke volumes about their own beliefs. In giving him that name, they were revealing their own beliefs about who God is. At first, I considered this new angle as interesting, but the more I thought about it, the more I questioned myself about what I’ve given my own children and grandchildren and what those things say about my beliefs. Have the things I’ve instilled in them, taught them, modeled for them, etc. shown my belief in God and who He is? Have the attitudes, actions, and reactions I have displayed in front of them been a reflection of my belief in God and who He is? Have the things I put the most emphasis on been things that have eternal significance or the things that are only temporary? Does the way I handle adversity and hardships point them toward God or draw them away from Him? What have I done and what am I doing that will help them to know Him better? I wish I could say that I’ve always done my best to point them toward God, but I would be lying. I wish I could say that I always focused more on teaching them about Jesus than the things of the world, but I can’t. I wish I could say that I’ve always modeled godly behavior for them, but I haven’t. When I think of all the ways I have failed, I begin to despair. Then, I remember something very important…there is still time! I still have time to teach my children and grandchildren all of the things about God that I want them to know. I still have opportunities to teach them about God’s love and about the most amazing gift of all time…His Son!

“And these words which I command you today shall be in your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, when you walk by the way, when you lie down, and when you rise up.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

September 2014
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
