shani4jc

Not my will, but Yours be done

Posted on: 7-15-112014

“Father, if You are willing, remove this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Yours be done.” Luke 22:42

I’m not sure if there are too many things more difficult to say to God than “not my will, but Yours be done.” Jesus spoke these words to His Father in reference to the cross. He knew the pain and suffering, physical, mental, and emotional, that was about to be heaped upon Him. He knew the weight of our sin was about to be carried by Him and Him alone. He knew that by taking our sin upon Himself, He would lose the One He loved above all else…His Father. He knew the Father would have no choice but to turn His back upon Him, and He knew that He would be utterly alone to pay the debt of our sin and conquer death! I cannot even imagine the torment He must have been going through as He cried out to His Father and begged Him for another way! I cannot fathom how terrified He must have been as He thought about what was coming! I cannot comprehend how devastated He must have been when His Father didn’t send a legion of angels right at that moment to whisk Him right back to His side in heaven. And I can’t begin to understand the courage and strength it took Him to choke out the words, “yet not My will, but Yours be done.” Most of us will have to utter those words at some point in our lives. And if you’ve ever had to say them, you know the heartbreak that accompanies each syllable. Recently, our family has had to say those words more often than we can hardly bear. We have lost a very precious young lady in our family to suicide about two months ago. Before we could even grasp our minds around that, my nephew lost his 32 year old wife due to a heart condition. And now, we are watching my dad’s health take a very rapid decline. In fact, his health has gone down so much that the doctors have advised us to take him home and keep him feed, hydrated, and as comfortable as possible. As difficult as the first two events were for me, they are nothing to compare to the thought of losing my dad. He has had health problems for several years, but I have always known that he would pull through. However, as we see his health failing him day by day, I fear that the end is near. My heart shatters at the very thought of it! I don’t want him to suffer, but I can’t bear to even consider losing him. I beg God every day to do something…to intervene…to help him get better. And every time I beg God to do something, the only thing that keeps popping into my mind is “not my will, but Yours be done.” As I’ve wrestled with this for several days, I confess that the thought of even uttering those words to God terrifies me because I’m afraid that His will and what I want may be two entirely different things. A few days ago, as I did my Bible study, I was reminded of something…because Jesus allowed the Father’s will to be done instead of His own, something miraculous happened. Through God’s plan, the sacrifice has been made and our sins have been taken care of! Through God’s plan, we can have joy, peace, and hope that we would’ve never had without His plan. And through God’s plan, I know that even if I lose my dad on this earth, I will see him again in heaven. That night as I prayed for my dad, the words, “not my will, but Yours be done” didn’t come any easier, but I was able to choke them out. I don’t know what God’s plan is for my dad, but I do know that His plans are perfect every single time. Even when His plans are wrapped in devastation and heartbreak, they are what is best!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

September 2014
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
