shani4jc

God Misses You

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Yesterday, we had all of our children and grandchildren over for Grandparent’s Day. Having them all together under one roof for the day was the best present I could ever ask for, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of the day. Last night, after all of the little ones were gone, I walked around from room to room picking up cups, toys, articles of clothing, and other remnants left over from their visit. I stopped and listened and for the first time that day, it was quiet. And even though they had only been gone for a few minutes, I missed them! I missed the pitter patter of little feet, the deep down in the belly laughter, the shrieks and squeals, the smiles, the sound of their little voices calling “Nana”, the toys strewn all over the floor…I missed it all. And while I was thinking of how much I missed them, I was reminded of how much God misses us when we are away from Him. I often forget that God enjoys spending time with us, that He delights in us, and that we bring smiles to His face in much the same way as my grandchildren do to me. God created us because He loves us and desires a relationship with us…an up close, personal relationship with us. Just as I anxiously await another day with my grandchildren, God anxiously awaits our return if we’re gone away from Him. No matter how far we are from Him, all we have to do is call out His name, and He will be there…arms opened wide, just waiting to pour out His love on us.

“For the Lord delights in you…” Isaiah 62:4

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

September 2014
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
