shani4jc

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

This afternoon I had a choice to make…I could either go walking (which I needed to do) or I could sit and watch TV (what I wanted to do).  I kept trying to convince myself that it was a beautiful day outside and that a walk was just what I needed. However, there was a Law & Order marathon on and that is one of my favorite shows.  Eventually I managed to put my tennis shoes on, but somehow I still didn’t make it out the door.  In order to make myself feel better about watching TV, I folded some laundry as I watched.  I tried to convince myself that at least I was doing something.  Finally, I quit caving in to what I wanted to do and I got busy doing what I needed to do.  I have to admit it took me the first mile to decide that I had made the right decision, but by the time I was finished with my walk, I was glad I went.  As I was walking, I was thinking about how easy it is to sit on the couch and watch TV, but how hard it can be to get up and go exercise.  I thought about how easy it is to eat ice cream, but how hard it can be to eat vegetables. I thought about how easy it is to read every post on Facebook multiple times per day, but how hard it can be to spend 10 minutes reading the Bible. I thought about how easy it is to spend an hour on the phone talking to a friend, but how hard it can be to spend 5 minutes praying to the Father.  Discipline is not a characteristic that comes to most of us naturally…we have to really work at it.  It’s not easy and therefore, we tend to balk at it.  It’s much easier to do what’s easy and convenient, but what’s easy and convenient doesn’t always yield the best results!  Whatever area of discipline you need to work on in your life (or multiple areas if you’re like me), God is more than able to help you accomplish your goal.  He can give you the strength and dedication, as well as a big dose of determination, if you just ask Him to. “Now no discipline seems to be joyful for the present, but painful; nevertheless, afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.”  Hebrews 12:11

Discipline Doesn’t Come Easily

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

March 2014
F S S M T W T
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
