shani4jc

Sacrifice Is Never Easy

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Last week was my son’s Senior Recognition for basketball.  It was a very bittersweet night for me…sweet because I’m very proud of him and all he’s accomplished, but also very bitter in the fact that it was his last high school basketball game.  I have watched him dribble a basketball since he was just a toddler, have shot more baskets with him than I can even count, have heard more basketball stats than I care to hear, and saw him mature from a player who was a bit of a ball hog to a player who has learned that it is just as important to get an assist as to score a basket.  I witnessed the incredible game he played when he was about 10 years old and scored 68 points, I have seen him receive many awards as part of his basketball career, and I have seen him play every game as if his life depends on it.  However, out of all the incredible moments, I have never been more proud than I was of him during his last game of this year.  He had a new coach this year and for whatever reason, his playing style and the coach’s just didn’t go together.  He had to earn every single minute of playing time on the court.  If he made a mistake, he was benched, while other players were allowed mistake after mistake with no consequences.  It was a tough season for him, and an even harder season for me to watch.  Well, last week at his last game, he was allowed to play for most of the game. One of his teammates who has sat the bench for all but a few minutes for the whole year, was also able to come into the game toward the end.  However, after only a couple of minutes, the coach decided that the other player was going to come out.  I saw my son raise his hand and motion to the coach to take him out instead, which the coach did.  At first, I didn’t understand what had happened and I couldn’t imagine why my son, who loves to play so much, would volunteer to come out of the game.  Then, I realized what had happened.  He had sacrificed his playing time so his teammate could have some more playing time. As a mom, never have I been so proud of his actions on the court. I know he wanted to play, and I know it had to be a very difficult decision to make. Sacrifice is never easy.  It always costs us something…usually something very important to us.  When Jesus sacrificed His life for us, it was no easier for Him.  He, like us, struggled with what He had to do.  He knew what His sacrifice was going to cost Him and He asked God if there was another way.  However, when there was no other way, He did what He had to do for us!  He made the ultimate sacrifice so that we would never have to.  As hard as it was, His love for us was greater!

“Father, if it is Your will, take this cup from Me; nevertheless, not My will, but Yours be done.” Luke 22:42

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

February 2014
F S S M T W T
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
