shani4jc

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Sundays are usually my favorite day of the week because that is the day when I have most of my grandkids together for the day. Nothing thrills me more than spending time with them!  I enjoy cooking for them, playing with them, and just hanging out with them.  To some, the idea of chasing a three-year old around the trampoline for hours may not sound like their idea of fun, and I admit it wears me completely out, but the look on his face and the squeals of delight are enough to make me melt!  Some may not enjoy sweeping and mopping only to have juice and milk dripped all over the floor, along with cookie crumbs and everything else my little one year old girl leaves on her path, but I would do it a hundred times per day in order to hear her precious laugh and receive her sweet hugs. All of the crying, dirty diapers, and slobber that comes with having a six month old and a four-month old around may cause some to run the other direction, but to me, it’s more than worth it when they flash me a big grin that lights up their whole face.  I treasure every minute of the chaos, the clutter, and the noise because they are my babies and I am so grateful that God has chosen me to be their Nana!  There is a point on Sundays, however, that I do not like at all…it’s when it’s time to say good-bye!  I am never ready for any of them to leave…in my perfect world, they would live at Nana and Pop’s forever!  My sadness over their departure is now intensified because the three-year old and one year old don’t want to leave!  When it’s time to start gathering their things to go, the three-year old tends to go hide somewhere. He gets very quiet so no one will know where he is.  He sometimes gets behind the chair and just cries and tells us he doesn’t want to go.  One day, he broke my heart in two when my daughter carried him out on the porch and he just kept looking back, reaching his arms out for me, and crying, “Help me!” I just had to go in the house…I couldn’t bear to watch!  The one year old screams and cries all the way home and has been known to continue crying for hours, just standing at the door of her house.  Their tears always equal one thing…my tears! Yesterday, I saw a quote from Winnie the Pooh that made me stop and think about my precious babies.  I didn’t write it down, and I can’t remember it word for word, but the basic meaning was this: how lucky you are to have something so special that you truly miss it when it’s gone.  I am very blessed to have these little ones in my life!  They are my pride and joy and I consider each of them a precious gift from God.  I could search the world over and never find treasure any more valuable! I need to learn to count my blessings that I have something so special in my life that I truly miss it when it is gone.  As with many things, I need to be thankful for what I do have instead of focusing on what I don’t have!

“Give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  1 Thessalonians 5:18

Something So Special

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

February 2014
F S S M T W T
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  
