shani4jc

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Today, a lady I’ve known my whole life passed away.  Although she left behind many who will miss her greatly, their sorrow can also come with joy because she has left this world behind her and is now in the presence of the Lord.  When I was thinking about her life, all I could do was smile because I don’t ever remember seeing her when she didn’t have a smile on her face.  She was very kind and gentle to everyone she came across.  She never had a lot of money or material possessions, but what she did have, she shared with others.  She would’ve given you the shirt off of her back if she thought you needed it…or even if you just wanted it. I haven’t seen her in quite some time, but just recently she sent a quilt she made to me for my new grandson.  Generous, giving, compassionate, thoughtful, gracious, joyful…all words that describe this wonderful woman…words that I think we would like others to use to describe us if we were to pass away today.  She leaves behind family and friends who will surely mourn her loss, but she doesn’t leave them empty-handed…she leaves them with a legacy that is to be admired and honored.  Thinking about her legacy makes me think of the life I’m living right now that will one day be the legacy I leave behind.  I was watching my grandson sleep a little while ago and I thought about his life after I’m gone…what am I doing right now that will help him to be a godly young man?  Am I building a legacy that will be invested in eternity?  Will my legacy live on long after I’m gone because it’s built on eternal things or will it be gone in the blink of an eye because it’s built on the things of the world? Will my legacy point people toward Jesus or lead them away from Him?  Will my legacy build God’s kingdom or hinder it?  These questions aren’t easy ones, but they are important ones because it’s so easy to get caught up in things that don’t amount to anything in light of eternity.

“For we know that if our earthly house, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.”  2 Corinthians 5:1

Leaving A Legacy

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
