shani4jc

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

One of my favorite things to do is watch my son play basketball.  Tonight, his team won a very close game that had my stomach in knots.  They were behind for most of the game, but were able to come back with a victory.  My son was injured during the game which is certainly not what I wanted to see happen.  He was running at full force to jump up and block a shot, but at the time he jumped, the shooter ducked down and my son ran directly in to him, went over his back, hit the floor and rolled into the chairs where his fellow teammates sat.  Immediately, my heart was in my throat!  I could feel my heart racing and all I could do was say, “Lord, please let him get up.”  No more than a few seconds passed before he jumped to his feet and ran back onto the court, but to me, it felt like a lot longer.  Just as I started to breathe normally again, I saw him look at his coach and the next thing I knew he was coming out of the game and taken into the locker room with the assistant coach and trainer.  I tried to console myself with the thought that he probably just scraped his leg and was bleeding, but I couldn’t help but worry about him.  In a few minutes, he returned to the bench, much to my delight.  At halftime, my husband went to check on him.  It turns out that he landed on his hip and earned himself a big bruise, as well as scraping his knee up.  He wasn’t sure if he was going to get to return to the game, but I knew my son would go in the moment they let him, even if meant he had to hop on one leg up and down the court.  I know this about him because I’ve seen him play sports with sprained ankles, twisted knees, cuts, bruises, bloody noses,and even once with a wrist broken in two places (at least he gave it an honorable attempt with the broken wrist…he didn’t last too long with that one before his dad pulled him from the game because he knew something was very wrong).  He loves to play pretty much any sport and he is of the belief that you never quit.  He thinks you play hard or don’t play.  He is a fan of giving it your all or getting off the court.  His motto could easily be Nike’s famous slogan “Just Do It” because he thinks everyone should just get out there and give it their all…no excuses accepted for anything less.  We, as Christians, should live our lives with this attitude.  We should give it everything we have…no excuses for anything less.  We should give 150% every single day.  We should run the race God has called us to run with all of the drive and determination in the world because we are running for Christ.  We can’t sit back on the sidelines and watch other people run the race…we have to run it ourselves.  Sure, we may fall and we may get hurt from time to time, but when the final buzzer blows, victory is ours.  And that victory will far outweigh any hardship we ever endured in this lifetime.

“Don’t you know that in a race all runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.” 1 Corinthians 9:24

Just Do It

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
