shani4jc

The Plank in Your Eyes

Posted on: 7-15-112014

I do a lot of driving for my job.  I often find myself behind an eighteen wheeler loaded with logs.  Recently I was forced to drive behind one for quite a distance and I found myself thinking about how much damage could occur if just one of those planks of wood fell out of the truck. I found myself driving a little more cautiously and creating a little more distance between the truck and my car because I knew the damage would be devastating because these logs are massive.  These aren’t the only “planks” we need to be aware of in our lives.  God, Himself, warned us about planks…the planks in our own eyes that we ignore because we are so busy focusing on the specks in someone else’s eyes.

“And why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye, but do not consider the plank in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye,’ and look, a plank is in your own eye? Hypocrite? First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:3-5

These “planks” in our own eyes can do much greater damage than the planks of wood on the trucks we can see when we drive.  These “planks” can bring much sin into our lives and sin is always destructive.  These “planks” cause us to judge, they cause us to swell up with pride, they cause us to lack humility, they cause us to be self-righteous, they cause us to ignore our own shortcomings while spotlighting the shortcomings of others, and they get in the way of our relationship with God just to name a few.  Just like the planks of wood on the truck and the damage that they could bring caused me to proceed with more caution, the “planks” in my own eyes should cause me to proceed with caution for the road they take me down is not a road I need to be on.  I need to slow down and be on my guard in order to avoid the destruction these “planks” can cause.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
