shani4jc

Eye Opening Mail

Posted on: 7-15-112014

A few weeks ago I received a letter in the mail that was not nice to say the least.  I thought I was opening a Christmas card, but was shocked to find that I was actually opening a very nasty letter addressed to me.  There was no return address, but whoever sent it definitely wanted me to know what a horrible person I am.  I was told repeatedly that I’m not really the Christian I claim to be or I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing.  Now, you may be wondering what horrid thing I was doing, so I won’t keep you in suspense!  I will confess!  I am guilty of taking a friend of my daughter’s who was down on his luck into my home.  He was having some difficulties with his mom and was asked to leave home.  He didn’t have anywhere to go, so I told my daughter he could stay with us until he could figure out what to do.  I had my son clear some room in his closet, set an extra plate at the table, and tried to help this young man to the best of my ability.  Shocking behavior for a so-called Christian, right?  Well, at least according to the author of the letter I received.  I was accused of destroying a family because I wouldn’t let the young man go home.  I was accused of treating the young man poorly.  I was accused of being a fake Christian.  I was told that “my day was coming.”  There’s a lot more to the letter, but you get the gist of it.  When I first read the letter, I was simply dumbfounded.  I didn’t know whether to laugh or to cry. I tried not to let the letter bother me, but honestly, it did.  It broke my heart that someone would think those things about me.  The more I thought about it, however, the angrier I became.  I was angry that this person was accusing me of being a fake Christian when all I was trying to do was live out being a Christian by doing what I thought God would have me to do.  I remember pouring out all of my frustrations before God a few days later and I kept saying, “This person cannot possibly even know me.  They cannot even know the real story here. They must not know the real circumstances involved in this situation.”  I felt better after my heart-to-heart with God, and thought I was ready to move on with the whole thing.  I was ready, but God wasn’t.  Over the next several days, He kept bringing my words back to my mind.  Finally, I wised up to what He was trying to get me to understand…I, too, am guilty of judging others that I don’t even know.  I, too, am guilty of judging people’s situation when I don’t know all the facts.  Ouch!  This was quite a painful look in the mirror!  I’ve resolved to keep that letter in my Bible so I will see it often and be reminded of how I felt when I was judged…and more importantly, a reminder of how I make others feel when I judge them.

“Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with what judgment you judge, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured back to you.”  Matthew 7:1 – 2

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
