shani4jc

Treasured Above All

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Yesterday I wrote about how I treasure my first grandchild.  Because I treasure him, I want to spend as much time with him as possible. He crosses my mind several times per day even when I’m not with him.  When I get up in the morning, he is one of the first things I think about.  When I’m away from him, I miss him.  I find myself racing home from work so I can spend time with him.  Supper getting cooked, laundry done, furniture dusted, floors swept and mopped, dishes washed…all of this doesn’t seem nearly as important as it did prior to his arrival four and a half months ago.  What now seems important to me is a precious little smile that melts me like butter, a laugh that I could listen to all day every day, and sweet babbling sounds that have me wrapped as tightly around his little finger as he can get me.  I am the first to admit it…he has me right where he wants me!  I also wrote yesterday about how we are treasured by God.  In the same way I delight in spending time with my grandson, God delights in spending time with His treasures.  Nothing is more important to Him than we are.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the fact that God treasures us, but the question that keeps popping up in my mind is whether or not I treasure God.  Is He one of the first things I think about in the morning, does He cross my mind several times per day, do I miss Him when I’ve been away from Him, do I find myself racing home to read my Bible and spend time in prayer, do I put Him above the cooking and the cleaning?  Do I delight in spending time with Him the way I do my grandson?  Sadly, I would have to answer, “no” most of the time.  I do love God, but too often, I find myself putting way too many things before Him.  I can have such good intentions of spending time with God, but I get so easily distracted.  I may plan to read my Bible, but find myself watching TV instead.  I may plan to spend my time walking in the morning in prayer, but end up thinking of everything else under the sun besides God.  Maybe this isn’t a problem for you, but for me, it is a constant battle.  The prayer I have been praying recently is for God to grant me a heart that treasures Him above all for that is right where He belongs…above all!

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  Matthew 6:19-21

1 Response to "Treasured Above All"

Felt like I was the only one that battled the distractions of the world vs. Keeping my eyes on JESUS… As I read a few of your previous post, I see that I will really have to depend on My LORD to guide me to the Devotional to use in February…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
