shani4jc

Aside

Posted on: 7-15-112014

Recently many of us celebrated Christmas and, for most of us, presents play a big part of our festivities.  As a child, I can remember how slowly time seemed to drag by as I anxiously awaited Christmas and the opening of my gifts.  Once I had my own children, my focus turned to anxiously awaiting Christmas morning so I could see the excitement and joy in their faces over their gifts. Over the past few years, some grandchildren have been added to the mix and it is their faces, along with my children’s, that I delight most in seeing as they open their gifts.  For myself, however, it seems as if the older I get, the less I desire the material gifts and the more I desire the time spent with family and friends.  Now don’t get me wrong…I still love to get gifts, as most of us do.  But, now, being together is more important than a material possession.  It’s the “presence” of others as opposed to the “presents” from others that I enjoy the most.  When it comes to my relationship with the Lord, I find that all too often, I’m still like a child waiting for Christmas to come so I can have my presents.  I hate to admit it, but I often focus my relationship with Him on what He is giving me instead of focusing on enjoying His presence in my life.  When I pray, I can find myself giving Him a list of what I want instead of seeking Him.  When I focus only on what He is giving me, I miss out on the most important gift of all…Him.  When I focus only on the gifts, I fail to see the wonder of the Giver. God loves to lavish gifts upon His children, but He doesn’t want them to be our sole focus.  He wants us to seek Him because of who He is, not because of what He can give us because He knows that it is only in His presence that we will find true joy…a joy that no gift can ever give.

“You have made known to me the ways of life; You will make me full of joy in Your presence.”  Acts 2:28

Presence Over Presents

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2014
F S S M T W T
« May   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
