shani4jc

Before You Were Even Born

Posted on: 7-15-112013

My oldest daughter is expecting a baby in August. Yesterday, I had the great pleasure of accompanying her to her doctor’s appointment.  I couldn’t wait to hear my precious little grandbaby’s heartbeat.  As soon as I heard his/her little heart beating, tears of joy pooled in my eyes.  It was music to my ears.  We still have a long time to wait for the little one’s arrival, but he/she already has Nana wrapped right around his/her little finger. Each time I think about this little one, my heart is full of expectation.  I can’t wait to watch him/her grow up.  I can’t wait to see his/her personality develop over time.  I wonder what he/she will look like.  I wonder what his/her temperament will be like.  I wonder what he/she will like and what he/she will dislike.  I have so many hopes and dreams for what this baby will accomplish. When I think about these things, I am always left in awe when I think about the fact that God already knows this precious little one.  He already knows the exact moment he/she will make his/her arrival.  He already knows exactly what this baby will look like.  He knows the exact day and time this baby will first smile, coo, sit alone, crawl, take his/her first steps, say his/her first word (I’m hoping that it will be Nana), and every other detail of his/her life.  God knows exactly what this baby will grow up to be.  He knows all of these things because He has already planned all the days of this baby’s life.  He has already determined exactly what things this baby will accomplish.  He has divinely chosen the exact timing of this baby’s life to correspond with His plans.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.” Jeremiah 1:5

These are the words spoken to the prophet, Jeremiah, by God.  These very same words apply to my sweet grandbaby, as well as to each of us.  Before we were born, God knew us.  He knew every single detail of our lives.  Before we were born, He set us apart to do the things that He has called us to do.  He has ordained us to do very specific work for Him…work that has been divinely appointed to us and us alone.  He has amazing plans for all of us from before we were even created. I don’t know about you, but this simply overwhelms me and leave me in complete awe of our Creator.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

February 2013
F S S M T W T
« Jan   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
