shani4jc

God Makes No Mistakes

Posted on: 7-15-112013

“Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content.” Philippians 4:11

Many of us have heard this verse many times…in fact, we may have it committed to memory. However, it’s one of those things that’s a lot easier said than done.  We may know that we need to be content in every situation, but knowing it and doing it are two different things.  In a matter of a few moments on the phone with my husband today, I complained about more things than I care to even admit.  As I was doing all of my whining, I suddenly heard myself and was slapped right in the face with the truth that I know this verse by heart, but I don’t live it out in my life. On my drive home tonight, I had a long time to think about this verse and the people in my life who truly live it out.  I thought of two people in particular.  One is a young man who works in our company.  Every single time I see him, he is happy.  He works very hard and he does it with a smile on his face. He never fails to speak and smile to everyone he sees. Each time he is complimented or rewarded, he simply beams.  One of the things I love most about him is that he always tells me that when he was hired, he didn’t just get a job…he got an opportunity.  Every time I’m around him, he makes me appreciate the little things in life.  The second person I thought of was my 14-year-old great-niece.  She has cerebral palsy and cannot do many things that most of us take for granted.  She doesn’t have much use of her left side, so simple things like tying shoes, getting dressed, etc. are much more difficult for her than for most.  Due to the cerebral palsy, she is unable to jump, skip, or dance like most kids.  She can’t play sports or do so many things that she would love to do.  However, she never complains about what she can’t do…she simply focuses on what she can do.  Often times, even when she knows she can’t do something, she will still try her hardest to do it and then will just laugh at herself when she can’t.  We all have strengths and abilities and we all have weaknesses and disabilities.  We all have things that go well in our lives and we all have things that don’t go well in our lives.  We all have ups and we all have downs.  We need to learn to celebrate ourselves just as we are because God created us exactly in that way.  We need to learn to celebrate our situations and circumstances because God has divinely orchestrated them to be exactly as they are.  His knowledge is infinite.  He knows what is best in every single circumstance and in every single life.  He makes no mistakes…NONE!  Every single thing He does and every single thing He allows has divine purpose for our good.  Instead of complaining about what we “think” is wrong, we need to trust Him and be grateful for whatever it is that He’s doing in our lives.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

February 2013
F S S M T W T
« Jan   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
