shani4jc

When His Plans Collide With Our Wants

Posted on: 7-15-112013

This afternoon I received a phone call from a friend who had just received some news that was less than thrilling to her.  We’ve all been there…those times when what we want and what God has planned for us are two totally different things.  It can seem like the end of the world to us.  We can be devastated and distraught to the point where we either cry our eyes out or become physically sick…and maybe even both.  We may have no understanding of what God is doing and why He is doing it. We may feel that there is no possible benefit to the situation that He has placed us in.  We have questions and we want answers! Unfortunately, we don’t always get the answers anytime soon…and sometimes, we never do. Even if we do receive the answers, they may not even be the ones we wanted, so they really just cause the situation to become even more difficult.  When my husband decided that he was going to take a job in Louisiana, I had one of these times.  I had no desire to leave Texas where I had lived all of my life.  I had no desire to leave our home, our family, our friends, and certainly not my job teaching that I loved beyond measure.  However, God did not change His mind because of what I wanted.  He didn’t apologize for not checking with me first to get my opinion on the matter.  He didn’t answer me when I cried, “Why?” over and over and over.  He simply kept speaking one word to me…”Go.” When I could barely think of moving without bursting into tears, He added what I felt at the time was my final nail in my coffin.  He told me to take the job I currently have and it was not teaching.  As if moving was not enough, now He was not going to allow me to teach school.  This was my ministry He was taking away.  I kept reminding Him that He called me to teach…or had He? I began to doubt the very calling that I had been so sure of for so long. I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what God was doing and the truth is, I didn’t really want to know.  All I wanted was the life I had before my husband ever mentioned Louisiana.  Now, I’ve been here for two and a half years and wouldn’t you know it…I love it!  God was right all along!  Yes, He moved me from my home, my family, my friends, and my job, but what He was really moving me away from was my comfort zone.  When I came here, I had to lean on Him more than ever.  I had to trust Him to find us a home, I had to trust Him to bring us new friends, I had to trust Him that this new job was going to be okay, and I had to trust Him to give me a new ministry.  And guess what?  He did all of that in ways that are beyond my imagination!  And the funny thing is…the very friend who I mentioned at the beginning of this is a friend I have made since moving to Louisiana and I just happened to meet her in the job that God gave me! His ways may not be our ways, but they are always the best ways!

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart; lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.”  Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

January 2013
F S S M T W T
« Nov   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
