shani4jc

Stuck in the Mud

Posted on: 7-15-112013

It has been raining a lot over the past two weeks where I live.  The back of our property slopes down and is literally standing in water.  Yesterday, we finally saw  the sun.  I asked my son to fill up all of my bird feeders since I haven’t been able to do that in a while.  My feeders are very high, so we have to put a ladder in the back of the truck to reach them.  As he headed out the door, I said, “Don’t take the truck to the backyard.  It’s too wet back there.”  Well, the next thing I know, I see that he has not heeded my warning and the truck is bogged down in a pit of mud.  I run outside to see him, his sister, and his girlfriend desperately trying to place bricks under the tires to get some traction to get it out.  I can clearly see that the back tires are over halfway buried in mud, so I’m very doubtful that we’re getting it out.  I assess the situation a little more and then decide to call my husband.  He was less than thrilled with this little trauma we’re having, but tells me he’s on his way home.  When he arrives, we try to pull this truck out with his truck, but it’s not budging.  After quite some time has passed, my husband, covered in mud from head to toe, has exhausted all of his energy and all of his ideas.  We know that we’re going to have to get a tow truck to come and get it out. Needless to say, we’re not too happy with our son at this point.  However, we can tell that he’s already beating himself up about the whole situation and feels terrible, so we try to make him feel better by joking about the situation.  Now don’t get me wrong…there will be a consequence for not listening to my instruction, but I don’t want to condemn him and make him feel any worse than he already is.   I’m happy to report that today the truck has been pulled out of the mud and is sitting in our driveway with a whole lot of mud on it, but nothing that some soap and water won’t fix.  As I watched the truck being pulled out of the mud,  I was reminded of how many times my heavenly Father has told me not to do something only to have me do it anyway. And what happens?  Exactly what happened to the truck…I get stuck in the muck and mire of my own sin.  No matter how much I try, I cannot get myself out.  The more I try, the deeper I sink.  Finally, in desperation, I call on the One who told me not to do it in the first place.  And like my husband did yesterday, He comes running to my rescue.  He pulls me from the pit that I’ve created for myself and He does it without condemning me.  Yes, there may be a consequence for my disobedience, but He will not make me feel bad for my actions.  He may not like my actions, but He will always love me.

“Our soul waits for the Lord; He is our help and our shield.” Psalm 33:20

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

January 2013
F S S M T W T
« Nov   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
