shani4jc

Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound

Posted on: 7-15-112013

Last night my husband and I saw the movie “Les Miserables”.  We really enjoyed it and spent a great deal of time discussing the movie and how certain parts of the movie apply to our spiritual lives.  I think my favorite part (among many close runner ups) involves the characters, Jean Valjean, an ex-convict just released from prison.  Valjean had spent twenty years in prison for stealing one loaf of bread to feed his starving nephew. Upon his release, he is threatened concerning what will happen to him if he returns to a life of crime and has to come back to prison.  Because of the stigma attached to him due to his past, Valjean cannot find help from anyone, nor can he find work of any kind even though he is willing to do anything.  One night, he wanders through a snow storm, utterly exhausted.  He takes refuge up against a building and curls up to try to go to sleep.  A priest finds Valjean and invites him in for some food, some drink, a fire to warm himself by, and a bed to sleep in out of the elements.  The next morning, Valjean is gone and along with him, several items of value.  Valjean is caught by the police and brought back to the priest.  The priest is told that all he has to do is say the word and Valjean will be sent back to prison.  Valjean knows he is doomed.  There is nothing he can do except look at the ground and wait for his sentence to be pronounced.  The priest, however, denies that anything was stolen.  He says that he gave the items to Valjean and tells him that he left so quickly that he forgot the two silver candlesticks which were the most valueable items of all.  Then, the priest thanks the policemen for their duty and sends them on their way.  Valjean is left speechless.  What he expected was condemnation…what he received was the amazing gift of grace!

When this scene played out in the movie, I could not hold back the tears.  I bawled like a baby!  All I could think of was how this scene was a perfect example of the condemnation I deserve because of my sin and the amazing grace I have received in its place from my Savior!  I, like Valjean, deserve to be sentenced to death.  God, like the priest, holds the power to bring forth that sentence with only His word.  And God, like the priest, dismisses my sentence by exhibiting grace beyond my wildest imagination and declaring my innocence!  When I consider the grace that has been lavished upon me, I, like Valjean, am left speechless.  I know that I am guilty and I know that God knows that I am guilty.  Why, then, would God set me free when I deserve death?  He sets me free for only one reason…because He loves me with a love greater than my mind can even fathom!

“For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.” Ephesians 2:8 – 9

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

January 2013
F S S M T W T
« Nov   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
