shani4jc

Without Love You Have Nothing

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Recently, I was reminded of a time many years ago when I taught Mother’s Day out at our church.  All of the teachers in the program attended a training session one day and one of the things the preschool minister had to do was go around the room and describe each teacher with only one word so that the leader of the program would get a feel for us. She rattled our one word description off with relative ease.  I remember thinking I was glad she had to do it and not me because I would have a hard time using only one word to describe someone.  As I thought about this, I asked myself what one word I would use to describe Jesus to someone who did not know Him in order that they would be able to get a feel for Him.  I thought of a multitude of words and had a hard time narrowing it down to only a few.  Every time  I thought I had my one word decided upon, another word would pop up in my mind.  Finally, I decided that the one word I would use to describe Jesus would be loving.  I chose that word because all of the other words I could use to describe Him could fall under the category of loving.  As I thought about this, the thought hit me that if I am supposed to be a true reflection of Jesus, then I, too, should be able to be described as loving.  I may be described as loving by my immediate family and close friends, but I have to wonder if that is what others would say about me.  Do my actions, reactions, attitudes, and behaviors lead others to the belief that I am a loving person? If they don’t, then I’m really not living as He has called me to live.  We can do so many things in the name of Christ, but if we don’t have love to accompany it, it is worth nothing.

“Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal.  And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.  And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.”  1 Corinthians 13: 1-3

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

November 2012
F S S M T W T
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
