shani4jc

He Goes Before Us

Posted on: 7-15-112012

I came across a Scripture this morning when I read my Bible that I know I’ve read many times before and have probably even marveled over, but today, it really jumped out at me and has crossed my mind several times throughout the day.

“And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice.” John 10:4

One of the things I’ve always loved about this verse is the last part “for they know his voice”.  Sheep recognize the voice of their shepherd and will only follow that particular voice.  They will not follow any other voices because they do not recognize them.  This is the part of the Scripture I pray when I feel like there are multiple voices vying for my attention and I really need to hear from my Shepherd.  Today, however, it was the phrase “he goes before them” that really jumped out at me.  This is a reminder that the shepherd would go before the sheep and make sure the path they were on was safe for them to travel on.  The shepherd was on the lookout for things that may harm the sheep and things that were possible sources of danger.  The shepherd’s job was to protect and care for the sheep at any cost.  In much the same way, our Shepherd goes before us and makes sure we are on the right path.  He looks out for the things that may harm us, His sheep, and does His best to keep us out of areas of potential danger.  Our Shepherd loves us and wants to take care of us.  He wants to protect us and keep us on the path that is best for us.  In my life right now, I am traveling on a path that I’ve never been on before.  There is a lot of uncertainty about where this path will take me.  There are questions, concerns, anxiety, doubt, fear, and insecurity as I take each step, but when I think of this new path in light of the verse above, I have peace, assurance, and confidence that my Shepherd is already on the path.  He is going before me to make sure that I am safe and protected.  He does the same for you.  No matter where the path may take you, your Shepherd is already there, watching over you and keeping you safe.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2012
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
