shani4jc

You’ll Reap What You Sow

Posted on: 7-15-112012

A couple of days ago my five-year old granddaughter got a hold of a pair of scissors and did quite a number on her hair. Before she played beauty shop she had beautiful long red hair.  Now, she still has beautiful red hair, but it’s beautiful red hair of many different lengths in the back and very minimal bangs in the front.  My daughter was so upset, and I’m sure it didn’t help that I laughed about the whole situation.  Once I stopped laughing, I had to remind her that she, too, cut her hair when she was about the same age and she cut it even shorter than my granddaughter did.  I told her that I was very upset at the time, but I learned one thing through it all…hair will eventually grow back.  Then I had to remind her of what her dad and I have told her all her life…”You will reap what you sow”.  I cannot count how many times we told her that (she was quite mischievous and always into something) and now, as a mom, she’s learning that our words have a lot more truth in them than she ever imagined they would.  As I thought about this situation, I was reminded that we all reap what we sow.  God’s Word says,

“Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.  For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life.”  Galatians 6:7 – 8

When we sow the things of the flesh, we will reap things that are corrupt or that can be destroyed.  However, when we sow the things of God, we will reap things that are eternal and that cannot be destroyed. Are we sowing love or hate? Peace or chaos? Joy or sadness?  Encouragement or discouragement?  Hope or despair? We have to realize that the things we do make a difference…both in our life and in the lives of others.  We also have to realize that, unlike my granddaughter’s hair which will grow back, some of our actions have consequences that can never be changed.  Sow wisely!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2012
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
